We are Online  

University of Auckland

Uni & Coll in Auckland


Auckland logo
  • The University of Auckland was established on 23rd May 1883 as a constituent college of the University of New Zealand, initially housed in a disused courthouse.
  • The University of Auckland is the largest University based on enrolment, hosting about 40,000 students; therefore the central Auckland has a bulk of students and faculties.
  • The University of Auckland conducts a career fair every year to help graduates to find the best companies. The University of Auckland welcomes more than 8000 international students from over 120 different countries. One third of the international students choose to study in New Zealand.

Why study in The University of Auckland?

  • The University of Auckland is the leading university of New Zealand and the highest ranked University in New Zealand by QS World University Rankings & Shanghai Jiao Tong Academic Ranking of World Universities.
  • The University of Auckland is known for providing quality education and the education system of the University is based on the British System of Higher Education.
  • According to the QS World University Ranking the University of Auckland is rated at 83rd position.
  • The University of Auckland is in the 100 for 33 subjects in the QS World University Ranking by Subject 2020.
  • According to The Times Higher Education (THE) World University Ranking the University of Auckland is at the 179th position.
  • The University of Auckland stands in the 201-300 bands for the Academic Ranking of the World Universities (ARWU).
  • The University of Auckland is ranked as the 142nd as per the U.S News Global Universities Rankings.
  • The University of Auckland is ranked 39th in the top 75 list by Reuters for Asia Pacific's Most Innovative Universities.
  • The University of Auckland is placed at the 71st position in the QS Employability Rankings.
  • The University of Auckland score the highest rating of five stars Plus by the QS Stars University Ratings with maximum five-star in these areas:
    • Teaching
    • Employability
    • Research
    • Internationalization
    • Facilities
    • Innovation
    • Discipline
    • Accreditation
  • The University of Auckland is the largest research organization of New Zealand with more than 13,000 staff and postgraduate students involved in fundamental and applied research.
  • According to the recent evolution 2018 the University of Auckland has 33% of the top rated researchers in New Zealand.

Schools, Faculties & Research Institute

  • Faculty of Arts
  • Business School
  • Faculty of Creative Arts and Industries
  • Faculty of Education and Social Work
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Auckland Law School
  • Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences
  • Faculty of Science
  • Auckland Bioengineering
  • Liggins Institute
  • Public Policy Institute

Popular Programs offered

  • Business
  • Commerce
  • Education & Teaching
  • Engineering & Construction
  • Fine Arts
  • Design & Architecture
  • Literature
  • Philosophy
  • History


The University of Auckland has one campus in Whangarei in the Northern Region and the rest of the campuses in Auckland.

The City Campus

The University of Auckland main campus is also known as the city campus located in Auckland CBD having the majority of the students and faculties, the city campus is spread over 16 hectares and has a range of amenities that includes cafes, libraries, health care services, sports and recreations.

The Grafton Campus

The Grafton Campus was established in 1968 just opposite to the Auckland City Hospital in the outskirts of Grafton, close to the city Campus. The Grafton Campus has the faculty:

  • Medical and Health Science
  • School of Pharmacy
  • School of Optometry and Vision science including an Eye Clinic

The Epsom Campus

The Epsom Campus was formerly known as the Auckland College of Education's main campus until the college merged with University's school of Education in September 2004, it is the main teacher training campus offering programs and courses in teacher education and social services.

Newmarket campus

The University of Auckland has its engineering and research space and civil structure hall. The Newmarket campus has the Faculties of Engineering and Science.

The Tai Tokerau Campus

The University of Auckland's has a campus in Whangarei known as The Tai Tokerau Campus that offers teacher education courses to the Northland Community.

The University of Auckland has satellite campus for its faculty of Medical and Health Sciences such as

  • Waitemata Health Campus serving North Shore Hospital and Waitakere Hospital.
  • Freemasons' Department of Geriatric Machine located in North Shore Hospital
  • The South Auckland Clinical Campus located at Middlemore Hospital
  • The Waikato Clinical School

The University of Auckland has its marine campus known as the Leigh Marine Laboratory hosting postgraduate teaching and research at the Cape Rodney-Okakari Point Marine Reserve situated at the east coast near the Warkworth, approximately 100km north for the city Auckland.

South Auckland Campus:

The University of Auckland opened the South Auckland Campus in Manukau in February 2020 to replace the Manukau Institute of Technology (MIT).

Goldie Estate:

Goldie Estate also known as the wine science center. The University of Auckland was gifted a 14-hectare winery in Waiheke Island by Kim and Jeanette, currently, The Wine Science Center hosts the Wine Science courses.



  • The University of Auckland has a lot to offer when the student choose to stay on campus, living in the university accommodation provides opportunities to be involved in campus life and adjust in a new environment accordingly.
  • The University of Auckland's resident's halls provide from single rooms in shared apartments to private studio apartments along with these benefits.
  • Gives opportunities to live in a multicultural environment.
  • Located at walking distance from campus.
  • Amenities provided are utilities, Wi-Fi and television.
  • Sports and Recreation Centre membership
  • Residential activities and supports
  • Residential Halls
  • Carlaw Park Student Village
  • Te Tirohanga o te Toangaroa
  • 55 Symonds
  • UniLodge Anzssac/ Beach
  • University Hall-Apartments
  • Waiparuru Whitaker Block
  • Grafton Hall


Off Campus Accommodation is available near to the university campus for international students in the form of Paying Guest, Homestays as well as Private apartments.