We are Online  

MacEwan University


logo of MacEwan University
  • MacEwan University is a public university is located in the capital city of Alberta, Edmonton, providing student-oriented learning in an education friendly environment. The university vision is to primarily focus on teaching methods, which results in students' focus on learning
  • The University was established in 1971 as Grant MacEwan Community College, and it was named in honour of the former lieutenant governor of Alberta, Dr J.W. Grant MacEwan. The purpose of this University was to distinguish the need for college-level programs which were career-oriented.
  • MacEwan University offers full-time and part-time more than 65 programs, ten bachelor's degrees, 32 bachelor degree majors, two transfer degree programs, one applied degree and 40 diploma and certificate programs.

Faculties and Department

University has four faculties and two schools:

  • Faculty of Fine arts and Communication
  • Faculty of Health and Community studies
  • Faculty of Arts and Science
  • Faculty of Nursing
  • School of Business
  • School of Continuing Education

Research Centers and Institute

  • Acupuncture Teaching Clinic
  • Centre for Professional Nursing Education (CPNE)
  • Centre for Sexual and Gender Diversity
  • Clinical Simulation Centre (CSC)
  • Conservatory of Music
  • Early Learning at MacEwan Child Care Centre
  • John and Maggie Mitchell Art Gallery
  • Roundhouse
  • Social Innovation Institute
  • Ukrainian Resource and Development Centre (URDC)

Why study at MacEwan University?

  • MacEwan University is praised for its teaching. It has been awarded "A" grades in the Annual Globe and Mail Canadian University Report in categories including teaching quality, faculty's academic reputation, academic support service, and student satisfaction.
  • The MacEwan University was awarded high scores on the National Survey of Students Engagement. The University encourages individual interaction with students as the student: faculty ratio is 40:1 and international: domestic ratio is 1000:1500
  • MacEwan University is the fourth most sustainable University in Canada.
  • The University offers around 30+ programs that provide students with Work Integrated Learning (WIL) opportunities. The University has a Career Development & Experiential Learning where students can look for job placements and learn employment skills.
  • According to a recent survey, 95% of the graduate's were employed within six months of graduation, and 74% of working graduates reported that their job was related to the program they completed in the University.


  • MacEwan University offers various opportunities for scholarships and financial aid for international students.
  • International students can apply for financial aid through the University's official website during application.
  • Following are the scholarships available:
    • CFCW Scholarship: This scholarship is awarded to full-time students for programs in Arts and cultural management, Bachelor of Communication studies, Bachelor of Music, Public Relations and Design Studies at MacEwan University. CFCW scholarship is awarded based on outstanding academic achievement.
    • Aaron Michale Memorial Bursary: It is awarded to students enrolling for a full-time Bachelor/ Diploma/ Certificate program; students should have completed one trimester and need a bursary.
    • 4-H Alberta Scholarships: It is awarded to students pursuing post-secondary institutions as a full-time students.


The MacEwan University has two campuses:

  • City Centre Campus
  • Alberta College Campus

The City Centre campus of MacEwan University is home to most of the courses offered by the University, and the campus also houses the administration department of the Univesity.

MacEwan's Alberta campus is also referred to as the historic campus.


MacEwan University offers fully-furnished on-campus accommodation with meal plans for students.

Off-campus accommodation is available for students studying at MacEwan University in the form of Hostels, homestays and apartments.